Auto News

European Car Of The Year: 2009 candidates announced

2008 Alfa Romeo MitoThe European Car of the Year returns in November, and the important competition has just released the candidates relative to the next edition. The 38 participants must be commercialised in at least five countries across the continent in the 12 months prior to the awards ceremony, which will take place in Paris on November 17.

The judging panel will be comprised of 59 members representing 23 countries, chosen on the basis of the national market: so Germany, France, Great Britain, Italy and Spain will each have six representatives. Last year victory went to the Fiat 500, below are the participants for this year.

Alfa Romeo MiTo
Audi A4
Audi Q5
BMW series 7
Chevrolet HHR
Chrysler Grand Voyager
Citroën Berlingo / Peugeot Partner
Citroën C5
Dacia Sandero
Dodge Journey
Fiat Linea
Ford Fiesta
Ford Kuga
Honda Accord
Honda Jazz
Hyundai H1
Hyundai i10
Hyundai i20
Hyundai i55
Jaguar XF
Jeep Cherokee
Lancia Delta
Mercedes-Benz GLK
Mitsubishi Lancer
Opel Agila / Suzuki Splash
Opel Insignia
Renault Kangoo
Renault Koleos
Renault Mégane
Seat Ibiza
Skoda Superb
Subaru Forester
Toyota Land Cruiser 200
Volkswagen Golf
Volkswagen Scirocco
Volvo XC60